Part One: Before the Call

For as long as I can remember, I have always wanted to serve a mission. But let’s fast forward to the summer of 2012. I had just moved home after graduating with my associates degree and was going to continue to go to school. At the time, I was thinking about going on a mission but I knew that it was a long ways away because the age requirement for the girls was 21.

Well, what happened next was not expected whatsoever. During General Conference of October 2012, President Thomas S. Monson announced that the age had been lowered for the girls to go on a mission. It went from 21 to 19. And I was 20. The second that I had heard about the announcement I knew immediately that I was supposed to go on my mission as soon as possible.

The next couple of weeks, I filled out the paper work (medical records, education, ect.) and waited for two weeks. Then the big fat white envelope came. Family and friends gathered to hear me read the words, “Dear Sister Samantha ….you are hereby called to served in the Maryland Baltimore mission and ….your reporting date to the MTC is January 16, 2013.” That was only six weeks away and then I would be in for the best eighteen months of my life!

Part Two: The Mission Field will be posted shortly!

Comments from a Jabberwocky hunter

